Hampi – Part 1

Hampi, Karnataka

The former capital of the Vijayanagara Empire, Hampi was one of the most beautiful cities during the medieval period. The ruins of the 14th century temples and monuments speak volumes of its past glory and the destructions due to invasions.  The ruins of Hampi have been declared as a UNESCO world heritage site. The architectural splendour of monuments makes Hampi one of the most striking ruins of the modern world.

Hampi is located in the central part of Karnataka.  The magnificent ruins are set in an extraordinary landscape of giant boulders, lush paddy fields and banana plantations on the banks of the Tungabhadra River.

Hampi is divided into two parts. The Sacred Center and the Royal Center. These clusters are about 3 kilometers apart. As the name suggests a number of temples and religious structures are located in the sacred center, and the ruins of palaces and military structures are found in the royal center.

It’s one of the popular tourist attractions in Karnataka which draws more foreign tourists than locals.  It takes a couple of days at least to see all the attractions in Hampi.  The best time to visit is between November to March which is the peak season as the climate is cooler.

Related Links

Virupaksha Temple

Virupaksha Temple is the main center of pilgrimage at Hampi. It is believed that this temple has been functioning uninterruptedly ever since its inception in the 7th century AD. That makes this one of the oldest functioning temples in India. This temple is located near the Hampi bus stand and the bazaar.

Related Links

DSC_4733

DSC_4043

DSC_4055

DSC_4067

DSC_4062

DSC_4058

DSC_4050

DSC_4049

DSC_4048

DSC_4044

DSC_4070

DSC_4072

DSC_4390

 
Enhanced by Zemanta
16 thoughts on “Hampi – Part 1

  1. Thanks for the ping-back.
    Your photographs are refreshingly realistic, and very beautiful too. Looking forward to more photo-blog posts..

  2. Wow, great architecture! really, Hampi is a unique site of the pristine temples in Karnataka state. but I also have more informative posts related to Hampi attractions and karnataka tourism. To know please visit on my post.

  3. Appreciating the dedication you put into your site and detailed information you offer.
    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material.
    Wonderful read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds
    to my Google account.

  4. I think what you posted made a ton of sense. However, what about this?
    suppose you were to create a killer title? I mean, I
    don’t wish to tell you how to run your website, however what if you added a headline that grabbed folk’s attention?
    I mean Hampi – Part 1 | My Shutter Log is kinda plain.

    You might peek at Yahoo’s home page and note how they write post titles to get people to click. You might add a related video or a related pic or two to get readers interested about what you’ve got to say.

    In my opinion, it could make your website a little livelier.

  5. Greetings people, I am somewhat of a pet dog lover. I was reading this website and I genuinely enjoyed it.

    It consists of quite a few really superb tips that I can digest.
    I have to state, I’ve become unhappy presently since my best mate isn’t around.
    Researching websites gives me a small amount of piece of mind though.
    I would love to give thanks to you just for this cool web-based page of which will help pass the news on canines even more!

    I really was itching to know if you provide rss list so I could continue to keep current .

  6. How’s things guys, im a bit of a zombie fan. I like never write a comment but I personally was looking at this blog post and I absolutely liked it. It consists of a number of truly nice insights that I can soak up. Browsing on the net provides me with a little bit of piece of mind though. I’d love to say thanks
    to you for the wonderful website content in which can help send out the
    word when it comes to zombies even more! I actually was curious as to if you have rss opt-in list so I can
    routinely keep up-dated at this site.

Leave a Reply

